MINERVA - read-only archives


Infiltrate. Reveal. Destroy. This forum is gone, but not forgotten.
It is currently Sun Sep 15, 2019 4:31 pm

All times are UTC





Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 2:42 am 
Offline
Acolyte
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 3:44 am
Posts: 24
Location: 33 parsecs from the closest bathroom
Everytime I load a saved game in the second map of pegasus, it crashes, due to a problem with hl.exe. Strangely, this happens only with the saved games, where I have the RPG.

_________________
Ipsa Scientia Potestas Est


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 2:31 pm 
Offline
Horseman of the Apocalypse
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 7:46 pm
Posts: 251
Location: Warsaw
Have you gone through the troubleshooting stages described here?

_________________
"Okay, Freeman! Be adequate!"
-- Rebel Griggs


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Technical queries and fixes (Read the checklist first)
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 2:17 pm 
Offline
Inductee
 Profile

Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 1:35 pm
Posts: 2
I'm wondering if this forum is defunct or largely abandoned at this point, and if asking for help here is a waste of time, but for lack of a better solution I'm here. So I've gone through the checklist of usual suspects, and none of them are the culprit it seems. I've not, however done a complete playthrough of HL2 and EP1 since having installed them. I've played them numerous times, and only played the first couple of chapters prior to trying to play Minerva. I've been launching from the library list in steam.

The problem I'm having is in the first part of the game (carcinogensis). Upon descending the ladder into the underground facility, and taking the stairs down to find a locked door one must go through, and unlocking it via the kind of circuitous route that HL is notorious for, and having found the security station and unlocked the door, during the subsequent combat with the handful of waves of soldiers, I have an error. Invariably at some time during the combat I will get looping sounds and the game will hang. This has happened repeatedly. Just short a dozen times. I got through it once before by lowering my AA and AF settings (In previous playthroughs of HL2 EP1 on this system I noticed that setting my AA and AF at any setting other than the recommended would cause the screen to go completely blank, so my suspicions turned to those culprits...but anyway) But now it seems as if those are not working this time. The configuration is the same (played through over the weekend) And I'm a bit stumped.

System Specs

i7 920 @ 3.2GHz
MSI Eclipse SLI x58 motherboard
3x2gigs DDR3 1333 (Corsair XMS3, not overclocked)
HD Radeon 5850
Asus Xonar DX sound card
WD Caviar Black 500gig system drive
Seagate barracuda 7200.10 500gig data drive
Sony-Optiarc Sata DVD RW
PC Power and Cooling silencer 750
Windows Vista HP x64

I know a lot of those details are unnecessary but I thought I'd spill it all in advance rather than have to go through it again, bleh.

Driver versions that support my video card only go back a couple of generations, so I'm not sure where to go to get a catalyst version that works if this one doesn't.

Event Viewer comments:

Error 8/18/2010 9:11:26 AM Application Hang 1002 (101)

The program hl2.exe version 0.0.0.0 stopped interacting with Windows and was closed. To see if more information about the problem is available, check the problem history in the Problem Reports and Solutions control panel. Process ID: 2bc Start Time: 01cb3ed68465bc72 Termination Time: 39


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Technical queries and fixes (Read the checklist first)
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:37 pm 
Offline
Petitioner
 Profile

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:11 pm
Posts: 7
Read a few of the threads which are below the stickies. Summary:
- Minerva is currently broken due to a recent HL2 update.
- The author is working on a fix, but since he is working for Valve now, he is busy with other things.
- The official fix is actually a port to the Orange Box engine, so it will take even more time.
- There is an unofficial fix, which involves a copy of old assets that are *not* downloaded through Steam any more. (But if you have an old install of Episode One, you still have these old assets, as they aren't forcefully deleted.) This unofficial fix can be found here: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=328


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Technical queries and fixes (Read the checklist first)
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 2:44 am 
Offline
Acolyte
 Profile

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 2:37 am
Posts: 15
pizzahut wrote:
Read a few of the threads which are below the stickies. Summary:
- Minerva is currently broken due to a recent HL2 update.
- The author is working on a fix, but since he is working for Valve now, he is busy with other things.
- The official fix is actually a port to the Orange Box engine, so it will take even more time.
- There is an unofficial fix, which involves a copy of old assets that are *not* downloaded through Steam any more. (But if you have an old install of Episode One, you still have these old assets, as they aren't forcefully deleted.) This unofficial fix can be found here: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=328


Good info there Pizzahut, to expand, add to what you've said...

Quote:
Minerva is currently broken due to a recent HL2 update.


Please clarify a time-line.
From my research, Minerva was/ has been broken due to the (May 2010) 5-2010 "Macintosh" Enabled HL2 engine (cough-cough) update. (downgrade) The effect of this (non-reversible) Mac friendly /PC unfriendly "update" mods that were coded to look for files, assets no longer work correctly as the engine is totally different (2009 Source Engine).- hence they're all screwed up /don't run at all.

Quote:
- The official fix is actually a port to the Orange Box engine, so it will take even more time.


Weird though that I have a Jan-2010 Orange box install of HL2 / Minerva and it worked PERFECT until the 5-2010 "update".

Quote:
- The author is working on a fix, but since he is working for Valve now, he is busy with other things.


Last post by Adam that I found was Jun-5-2010 saying he was "working" on a patch. http://www.hylobatidae.org/minerva/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=323&start=15

Wish he'd post something about the PROBLEM and give everyone a update on the status of the patch on the Minerva website and the major mod sites.

http://www.hylobatidae.org/minerva/

http://www.moddb.com/mods/minerva

Quote:
There is an unofficial fix, which involves a copy of old assets that are *not* downloaded through Steam any more.


Q: Is there a way to extract the assets from half-life 2 content.gcf, etc to (1) central location and have each "mod" look for the needed files instead of exacting the needed files to each mods directory? When you have alot of mods that extra disc space ads up.
(Probably not.. My thinking is VALVE should
A: Enable a roll-back feature to be able to de-install "updates".
B: Configure their new super-duper engine "update" to "look" at the gameconfiq file and AUTOMATICALLY load /configure the needed files.)


PS: IIRC I think Minerva Metastasis is one of the mods linked to on SteamPowered.com... On the page for the mod there was NO info about the 5-2010 (May-2010) "update" causing ANY problems. It's business usual, BUY Half-Life 2 if you want to run this mod... Everythings FINE... send us your money!


.


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Technical queries and fixes (Read the checklist first)
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 3:27 am 
Offline
Acolyte
 Profile

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 2:37 am
Posts: 15
theubersmurf wrote:
I'm wondering if this forum is defunct or largely abandoned at this point, and if asking for help here is a waste of time, but for lack of a better solution I'm here. So I've gone through the checklist of usual suspects, and none of them are the culprit it seems. I've not, however done a complete playthrough of HL2 and EP1 since having installed them. I've played them numerous times, and only played the first couple of chapters prior to trying to play Minerva. I've been launching from the library list in steam.

The problem I'm having is in the first part of the game (carcinogensis). Upon descending the ladder into the underground facility, and taking the stairs down to find a locked door one must go through, and unlocking it via the kind of circuitous route that HL is notorious for, and having found the security station and unlocked the door, during the subsequent combat with the handful of waves of soldiers, I have an error. Invariably at some time during the combat I will get looping sounds and the game will hang. This has happened repeatedly. Just short a dozen times. I got through it once before by lowering my AA and AF settings (In previous playthroughs of HL2 EP1 on this system I noticed that setting my AA and AF at any setting other than the recommended would cause the screen to go completely blank, so my suspicions turned to those culprits...but anyway) But now it seems as if those are not working this time. The configuration is the same (played through over the weekend) And I'm a bit stumped.

Error 8/18/2010 9:11:26 AM Application Hang 1002 (101)

The program hl2.exe version 0.0.0.0 stopped interacting with Windows and was closed. To see if more information about the problem is available, check the problem history in the Problem Reports and Solutions control panel. Process ID: 2bc Start Time: 01cb3ed68465bc72 Termination Time: 39



Quote:
I'm wondering if this forum is defunct or largely abandoned at this point,


It certainly looks that way....

On your problems:
Your problems are being caused by May-2010 *"Macintosh enabled" (PC unfriendly) engine update.

*"Mac enabled" as this update has allowed Valve to tap into the Macintosh market. (EG: Sell to the Mac market) PC Unfriendly as it has royally screwed up alot of mods.

Cause of problem: If at any time you'll gone online after May-26?-2010 and allowed Steam to update it updated (downgraded) the engine.
( If I sound pissed I am as it's ridiculous that a software "update" cannot be rolled back. You should be able to "roll-back" from within the Steam interface, the Game does keep a log of how many crashes has happened and after a major engine "update' it should give the end user options to revert back to a previously working state.. After so many crashes have occurred a box should appear saying: Your install is all screwed up after our update, if you'd like to restore you system to a WORKING STATE click here.)

Suggestions/workarounds.

For me after hitting the switch the game would crash hard with looping sound /video freezes and react exactly as you described. I'd hit the switch, the door would blow.... I'd take out the one guy that blows the door, and a couple of others.... As long as I do NOT proceed thru the blown door at the top of the steps I'm ok, as soon as I step THRU the doorway by a step or two game crashes HARD.

Image
http://img12.imageshack.us/i/crasha.png/

Workaround to get past that section:
Do NOT proceed thru the blown door! Go BACK, double track the way you came then proceed to the room with catwalks with the energy beam in the middle that has the (2) turrets in it that are programmable after you finish the next level... Proceed across the catwalks and the doorlock should be GREEN. Press the doorlock button, go inside, door will close behind you. proceed to the next level.

*Note that this worked for me 70% of the time, if the action gets too hectic the game will crash at that point also.

This problem from what I'd read (and I'm not a expert nor care to be a expert on the Source engine) is that the new 5-2010 (downgrade) cannot handle the same number of enemies/ track as many objects during the game.

Has something to do with: ED_Alloc: no free edicts

Suggestions/workarounds.

If you are running windows, Restore system from previous date.

1: DISCONNECT from the net
2: Roll back to working installation via Windows System Restore. Pick a date pre-5-26?-2010 / date you went online and Steam updated.
3: Open steam and configure it NOT to UPDATE.
3A: Configure your firewall to not allow Steam access.
4: Close STEAM, and or defrag as needed.
5: Run mod(s)


Suggestions/workarounds if you don't have a working restore point.

Apply unofficial patch as Pizzahut noted above. It works.


.


Last edited by WeAreNotAlone on Thu Sep 02, 2010 5:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Technical queries and fixes (Read the checklist first)
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 1:45 pm 
Offline
Inductee
 Profile

Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 1:35 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks for the replies, I wasn't certain I'd get any for this. It looks as if I'm going to have to content myself with the one fairly solid playthrough I got. I've reinstalled my OS since May 5th, and I don't have any backups of the games prior to that. I tried the patch, but it caused graphical problems. The game becomes unplayable after a point in the game, when you have to jump out of the elevator to cross the fallen metal structures to get to a walkway (Pegasus), those structures give the graphical error image you see in this video, they can't be walked across, so, I guess I'm stuck waiting for a version that works well. Besides which, the behavior of the stalkers is aberrant (you can see it in this video if you watch).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YzxqAQH996s


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Technical queries and fixes (Read the checklist first)
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 3:16 am 
Offline
Acolyte
 Profile

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 2:37 am
Posts: 15
theubersmurf wrote:
Thanks for the replies, I wasn't certain I'd get any for this. It looks as if I'm going to have to content myself with the one fairly solid playthrough I got. I've reinstalled my OS since May 5th, and I don't have any backups of the games prior to that. I tried the patch, but it caused graphical problems. The game becomes unplayable after a point in the game, when you have to jump out of the elevator to cross the fallen metal structures to get to a walkway (Pegasus), those structures give the graphical error image you see in this video, they can't be walked across, so, I guess I'm stuck waiting for a version that works well. Besides which, the behavior of the stalkers is aberrant (you can see it in this video if you watch).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YzxqAQH996s


Wish i could help you more, I think I read on Moddb http://www.moddb.com/mods/minerva/#1520546 Draftlink's patch had the needed files to make post May-2010 install work correctly.
(You have to extract the contents of a *gcf file, Pre-May-26-2010 vs post May-26-2010 install requires you to extract from different gcf.)


For me with a Jan-2010 Orange box install that worked PERFECT pre-May-2010 Valve "Macintosh Friendly potential customer ", PC, existing customer unfriendly engine update DaftMink's Minerva Fix v4.zip worked perfect. I've played thru (2) times with no glitches, crashes.

Posted by: DaftMink
hylobatidae.org (forum section)

Minerva Fix v4.zip
CRC32: 49AEBDDF
MD5: EB3F5B30486D53CE7978A40D72E2B114
SHA-1: 43CAE9A112DD41D86D8A8A794F5B93D886BAE67D

Q: Have you DELETED Minerva, reinstalled, then applied the patch?
Q: Are you trying to run from a game save?
Q: I Just had something weird happen-(Not weird if you think about it)
Windows creates a listing of recently accessed files and programs. I clicked on Minerva and noticed while it was loading references to EP 1, when it finally loaded the water and sky was screwed up like it was pre the official DraftMink patch, Additionally it said A.I. Disabled.
Exited without saving, restarted steam, selected Minvera and water looks perfect, runs normally. I mention this as your links to start the game may be linked to a pre-patched state.
Suggestion: Post on Steampowered forums the problems you are having, that board is alot more active than this board. Not many people are active on this board it appears... it's a ghost town...
Fixes For Broken Mods, Minerva Fix v4.zip
http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/s ... st15662934

PS: Scroll up and down thru the above link to read up on any issues...

One last thing, When you do fix the problem post back in detail what you had to do, here, on Moddb, and the Steampowered forums.

Additionally from time to time come back and make a post inquiring on the status of the official patch. The more people that do, the more to the "front-burner" the patch is... The impression I get is the official patch is on the backburner and may never be completed... More current projects getting all Adam's time... as time goes on if no interest is shown the official patch may die on the vine, never to see the light of day.


.


Last edited by WeAreNotAlone on Thu Sep 02, 2010 5:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Technical queries and fixes (Read the checklist first)
PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 9:03 pm 
Offline
Petitioner
 Profile

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:11 pm
Posts: 7
theubersmurf wrote:
I tried the patch, but it caused graphical problems. [...] http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YzxqAQH996s

I only watched the beginning of the video, it looks like you didn't install the old Episode One assets (aka "Pre-Orange box update Episodic folder" aka "original episode 1 files"), which you need if you do not have an old install.


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Technical queries and fixes (Read the checklist first)
PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2010 1:20 am 
Offline
Acolyte
 Profile

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 2:37 am
Posts: 15
pizzahut wrote:
theubersmurf wrote:
I tried the patch, but it caused graphical problems. [...] http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YzxqAQH996s

I only watched the beginning of the video, it looks like you didn't install the old Episode One assets (aka "Pre-Orange box update Episodic folder" aka "original episode 1 files"), which you need if you do not have an old install.


Sharp eye there. I haven't had that problem- makes sense once you think of it..

One thing I would like to clarify, when you talk about a "old install"... vs a new one... What is the CUT-OFF-DATE? - Could you please post this info, instead of saying "old", or "new"?

(I'm assuming ANY install prior to May-26-2010 when the Mac enabled rewrite /update was pushed out the door to anyone that was connected via STEAM on, or after that date and allowed a auto /manual update... would be the "old install"... and ANY install done after May-26-2010 would be considered the "new", and it would be sans the Pre-Orange box update Episodic folder" aka "original episode 1 files.)

OLD INSTALL=Pre-May-26-2010, prior to the engine rewrite
NEW INSTALL=Post-May-26-2010, Mac enabled Source 2009 engine- this "update"/new engine breaking alot of mods.


PS: Thanks for all the work you did on the Minerva Fix v4.zip (unofficial) patch!


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Technical queries and fixes (Read the checklist first)
PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2010 10:45 am 
Offline
Petitioner
 Profile

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:11 pm
Posts: 7
It's not my patch, it's DaftMink's. ;)

And you're right about the cut-off date. So I take it you installed Episode One prior to the cut-off date? The error models only appear late in the game though, this glass elevator is where I saw them the first time: http://img22.imageshack.us/slideshow/we ... s30000.jpg


Top
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group