MINERVA - read-only archives


Infiltrate. Reveal. Destroy. This forum is gone, but not forgotten.
It is currently Sun Nov 17, 2019 5:50 am

All times are UTC





Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Laggy Lighting in 3&4
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 1:21 am 
Offline
Acolyte
 Profile

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 8:11 am
Posts: 104
Location: Chicago
I think it may have somthing to do with using episode one, but areas where there is Blue or white colored lights the game can get EXTREMELY laggy, Almost like a slide show. I know for sure its the lights because I moved in and out of the sot several times, with the same enemies shooting and following me and as soon as I cleared the light zones it was fine.

The worst of which being, on your escape, where you must operate the two valves to move underneath the floor


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:15 am 
Offline
Horseman of the Apocalypse
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 7:46 pm
Posts: 251
Location: Warsaw
Can you post the FPS you get on these passages as well as your hardware specs and your OS version?


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 6:17 pm 
Offline
Acolyte
 Profile

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 8:11 am
Posts: 104
Location: Chicago
I think I may have figured it out. It not the rain on FPS lagging me its the actual game. I noticed now that when I had the net_graph up, that my FPS was actualy higher than in any other game I own, but somtihing about that area makes my gameplay chunky. I checked it on another computer and it did not happen. So it may just be me, sorry if I wasted anyones time.
Here's my DXDiag and screen shots of the spot anyway

it doesnt show my vid card here, I have an ATIx600 with 128mb.

Time of this report: 10/3/2007, 12:44:18
Machine name: CHRIS
Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.070227-2254)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Hewlett-Packard
System Model: Pavilion zd8000 (EC303UA#ABA)
BIOS: Ver 1.00PARTTBL;
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz (2 CPUs)
Memory: 2046MB RAM
Page File: 580MB used, 6311MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

Image
This is me with my back to the spot, 40 some FPS

Image

I am standing in the same place, facing the light source. FPS drops by half

[edit: links]


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 9:11 am 
Offline
Horseman of the Apocalypse
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 7:46 pm
Posts: 251
Location: Warsaw
What is your HDR setting and what is the video card on the other computer?
Can you try to run the mod on no/minimal HDR ?


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 4:53 pm 
Offline
Acolyte
 Profile

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 8:11 am
Posts: 104
Location: Chicago
The main computer I run on is not capable of HDR, the other computer was
a GeForce 7600. I dont know much about it. My friend just bought it


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 7:12 pm 
Offline
Acolyte
 Profile

Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 3:08 pm
Posts: 48
Do you get poor performance close to the bottom of the broken warehouse lift shaft in 4b, and the ramp up from the middle lift in 4a?

Both of those have flickering lights, and they're often pretty horrible in performance terms. I tried to minimise use of them, but sometimes they just look too cool...


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 7:34 pm 
Offline
Acolyte
 Profile

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 8:11 am
Posts: 104
Location: Chicago
Oh my the maker speaking to me?! Great work by the way, best single player mod I have played, great story, great music, plenty of action and I even had to use my brain once or twice. I look forward to your future works

I cant specificly recall the spots you mean. But I am sure that the only place the game became abnormaly laggy was in that hallway I have screen shots of. I have learned to expect SOME stutters, but that one hallway is Slideshow like. I tried with my seting all tunred completely down, While it did help it was still stuttering. I am beginning to think it may be the combination of the light AND the forcefield.


Top
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group